Categorical violence and categorical responsibility

PanychAug. 24, 2014 

Oleksiy Panych, professor of Philosophy, Kyiv

I am reading “Bloodlands” by Timothy Snyder. In his description, the events of 1930s-1940s in Central and Eastern Europe look like unprecedented orgy of what Charles Taylor calls “categorical violence” – when people are oppressed just because they belong to a certain category (Poles, Jews, “kulaks”, “national intelligentsia”, etc.). In the course of persecutions, oppressors recall actual deeds of some representatives of a certain category (e.g., Jews, who served as commissars, or Poles, who spied against the Soviet Union in 1930s), and expand the guilt and responsibility for it to all other representatives of the same category. This results in millions of deaths of (personally) guiltless people.

How to resist it?

There is a radical solution: “everybody is responsible for oneself only”, there is no collective guilt.

However, if so, there are no nations, thus there is no national repentance as well as national mobilization, even for the noblest aim. There is only an aggregate of atomic individuals. But this is the best nutrient medium for political manipulations, which sooner or later result in a new categorical violence.

Is there any other solution?

I would say yes; but this solution presupposes ethical asymmetry of an imputation of responsibility in the first vs. second/third person. Simply speaking, one cannot impose to anybody the responsibility for any deeds committed by other representatives of his/her group, but one can willingly assume this responsibility oneself. The first way – to impose responsibility – immediately leads to endless circles of violence; the second way – to assure responsibility – slowly leads to collective moral cleansing.

That is why the best and the most conscientious representatives of a group are those who say “forgive us”. Us, Russians, peoples of Donetsk region, Poles, Ukrainians, Germans, Lithuanians, Jews. A group has a chance to moral cleansing only if such voices are heard and authoritative.

The difference between assuming responsibility and imposing responsibility is a subtle one; moreover, every display of the first could be abused by the adherents of the second.

However, I do not see any other way of formation of collective ethos.

Otherwise we cannot survive.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Login

Register | Lost your password?

Категориальное насилие и категориальная ответственность

Panych24 августа, 2014 

Алексей Панич, профессор философии, Киев

Читаю «Кровавые земли» Тимоти Снайдера. В его описании, события 1930-1940-х годов в Центральной и Восточной Европе выглядят невиданным прежде разгулом того, что Чарльз Тейлор называет «категориальным насилием» — когда люди подвергаются насилию только потому, что принадлежат к определенной категории (поляки, евреи, «кулаки», «национальная интеллигенция» и т.д.). При этом, вспоминая реальные действия одних представителей какой-то конкретной категории (например, евреи, бывшие комиссарами НКВД, или поляки, шпионившие в 1930-е годы против СССР), насильники переносят вину и ответственность за эти действия на всех других представителей той же категории. В результате гибнут миллионы ни в чем (лично) не повинных граждан.

Как этим бороться?

Есть радикальное решение: «каждый отвечает только за себя», коллективной вины нет.

Но тогда нет и наций, а значит, нет и национального покаяния, и национальной мобилизации во имя любой, даже и самой благородной цели. Есть только совокупность атомарных индивидов. А это лучшая питательная среда для политических манипуляций — результатом которых рано или поздно станет все то же категориальное насилие.

Есть ли другое решение?

Мне кажется, есть. Но это решение предполагает этическую асимметрию вменения вины и ответственности в первом и втором-третьем лице. Проще говоря, ответственность за действия других представителей группы нельзя ни на кого возложить, но можно добровольно на себя взять. Первое — «возложить ответственность» — немедленно вводит в бесконечные круги насилия; второе — «взять ответственность» — медленно приводит к коллективному очищению.

Вот почему лучшие и самые совестливые представители группы — именно те, которые говорят «простите нас». Нас — россиян, дончан, поляков, украинцев, немцев, литовцев, евреев. Только если такие голоса слышны и авторитетны, группа имеет шанс на моральное очищение.

Разница между взятой на себя и возложенной на других ответственностью очень тонка; более того, каждым проявлением первого могут злоупотребить сторонники второго.

И все же другого пути становления коллективного этоса я не вижу.

А без него не выжить.

Добавить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *

*

Login

Register | Lost your password?